RUNDUMDENGLOBUS – AROUND THE GLOBE

about traveling around the world

Villa Ludwigshöhe

Best viewpoints of the Palatinate region – the balcony of the royal villa “Ludwigshöhe”

| 0 comments

In the springtime the tourists start to come to the vineyards around the villa “Ludwigshöhe”.

 Strollers roam vineyards near the Villa Ludwigshöhe

Hiking in the vineyard

In 1845 King Ludwig I of Bavaria commissioned the construction of a summer residence in the Palatine homeland of his father Maximilian I of Bavaria. Vineyards were acquired above the municipalities of Edenkoben and Rhodt and construction began in 1846. The Palatinate belonged since 1816 to Bavaria.

According to the plans of his architect Friedrich Wilhelm Gärtner, a villa in Roman style with an interior atrium was built. The king was a frequent guest in Italy and loved Italian art. Accordingly, the representative rooms of the building were furnished with typical Pompeian murals.

Villa Ludwigshöhe

Villa Ludwigshöhe – Villa Ludwigs Height

But the completion of the building was delayed on the one hand by the death of the architect and on the other hand by the premature abdication of the monarch in favor of his son Maximilian II on March 20, 1848. Ludwig I was doomed to loose his throne tribute to the Dancer Lola Montenz affair. As a privateer, Ludwig I spent every second summer in his Palatine residence and for this the furniture had to be brought from Munich and then taken back.

With the construction of the Palatine Maximilian Railway in 1855 Edenkoben received a magnificent station and the ex-king goods could be brought by train from Munich. Consequently, the palace was built without heating and used by Ludwig I. only every two years in the summer months and for his birthday party. Later it was in the possession of the Prince Regent Luitpold, who ruled Bavaria until 1912. It was not until 1975 that the castle villa was sold by the Wittelsbach family to the state of Rhineland-Palatinate.

Aussicht von der Ludwigshöhe

Great view from the villa

From the balcony of the villa you have a wide view of the Rhine Valley up to the mountains of the Odenwald. Many hikers stop in front of the building and enjoy the view. Hiking trails lead around the villa and the Rietburg. A 14 km circular route leads from Rhodt over the villa up to the Rietburg, alternatively you can also use a chairlift. The path continues over the hiking car park Hüttenbrunnen down into the valley past the historic grinding mill.

In the direction of Edenkoben the hiker then comes across the almond mile and the forest nature trail back to the starting point.

Mandelbaum

Almond tree


Weinpresse

Winepress


Kelterhaus

Wine Press House

Especially in spring, the visitors are looking forward to the blossoming trees and look at the exhibits of the wine production.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


*

RUNDUMDENGLOBUS

Neuigkeiten vom Reisen rund um den Globus

Villa Ludwigshöhe

Beste Aussichtpunkte der Pfalz – der Balkon der königlichen Villa „Ludwigshöhe“

| Keine Kommentare

Mit dem Frühling kommen die Touristen in die Weinbergen ringsum der Villa „Ludwigshöhe“.

Spaziergänger durchstreifen Weinberge in der Nähe der Villa Ludwigshöhe

Weinberge in der Nähe der Villa Ludwigshöhe

 

König Ludwig I. von Bayern gab 1845 den Auftrag zum Bau einer Sommerresidenz in der pfälzischen Heimat seines Vaters Maximilian I. von Bayern. Oberhalb der Gemeinden Edenkoben und Rhodt wurden Grundstücke erworben und 1846 mit dem Bau begonnen. Die Pfalz gehörte seit 1816 zu Bayern.

Nach den Plänen seines Architekten Friedrich Wilhelm Gärtner entstand eine Villa im römischen Stil mit innenliegendem Atrium. Der König war häufiger Gast in Italien und liebte italienische Kunst. Dementsprechend wurden die repräsentativen Räume des Baus mit typisch pompejanischen Wandmalereien ausgestattet.

Villa Ludwigshöhe

Villa Ludwigshöhe

Doch die Vollendung des Bauwerks wurde einerseits durch den Tod des Architekten und andererseits durch die vorzeitige Abdankung des Monarchen zugunsten seines Sohnes Maximilian II. am 20.März 1848 verzögert. Ludwig I. wurde die Affäre zur Tänzerin Lola Montenz zum Verhängnis.  Als Privatier verlebte Ludwig I. jeden zweiten Sommer in seiner pfälzischen Residenz und dafür mussten die Möbel aus München mitgebracht werden und anschließend wieder mitgenommen werden.

Mit dem Bau der Pfälzische Maximiliansbahn 1855 erhielt Edenkoben einen prächtigen Bahnhof und des Ex-Königs Güter konnten mit der Bahn von München gebracht werden. Konsequenterweise wurde das Palais ohne Heizung gebaut und von Ludwig I. lediglich alle zwei Jahre in den Sommermonaten und für seine Geburstagsfeier genutzt. Später war es im Besitz des Prinzregenten Luitpold, der Bayern bis 1912 regierte. Erst 1975 wurde die Schlossvilla von der Familie Wittelsbach an das Land Rheinland-Pfalz verkauft.

Aussicht von der Ludwigshöhe

Aussicht von der Ludwigshöhe

Vom Balkon der Villa hat man einen weiten Blick ins Rheintal bis zu den Bergen des Odenwaldes. Viele Wanderer machen Rast vorm Gebäude und geniessen die Aussicht. Wanderwege führen um die Villa und die Rietburg. Ein 14 km langer Rundwanderkurs führt von Rhodt über die Villa bis hinauf zur Rietburg, alternativ kann man auch einen Sessellift benutzen. Weiter führt der Weg über den Wanderparkplatz Hüttenbrunnen hinunter ins Tal an der historischen Schleifmühle vorbei.

Richtung Edenkoben kommt der Wanderer dann über die Mandelmeile und den Waldlehrpfad zurück zum Ausgangspunkt.

Mandelbaum

Mandelbaum

Kelter

Kelter

Kelterhaus

Kelterhaus

Gerade im Frühling freuen sich die Besucher über die blühenden Bäume und betrachten die ausgestellten Fundstücke der Weinherstellung.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Pflichtfelder sind mit * markiert.


*